Will Smith, Tom Hardy, Jared Leto, Margot Robbie, Jai Courtney and Cara Delevingne have been announced as the primary cast members for the DC Comics supervillain movie Suicide Squad. Leto is set to play Batman's fearsome rival The Joker, while Smith will play Deadshot. The gang will be helmed by Hardy's Rick Flag.

Will SmithWill Smith heads the cast for Warner Bros' Suicide Squad movie

Elsewhere, Wolf of Wall Street actress Margot Robbie will play The Joker's accomplice Harley Quinn, whole Jai Courtney will take on the role of Boomerage. British supermodel Delevigne - who was rumored to be playing Quinn after a Halloween post on Instagram - will play Enchantress.

More: Coud Jared Leto be the Suicide Squad's Joker?

Suicide Squad, directed by Fury's David Ayer, follows a group of villains who take on black op missions from the government in return for reduced jail sentences for their crimes. 

"The Warner Bros roots are deep in this one," said Warner Bros president Greg Silverman.

"We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble under David Ayer's amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero."

Margot RobbieMargot Robbie will play The Joker's sidekick Harley Quinn

The movie is set to roll out on both 2D and 3D in August 2016, with Warner Bros planning to release ten superhero and super-villain epics between now and 2020. Suicide Squad will be followed by a standalone Wonder Woman movie, Justice League Part One, The Flash, Aquaman, Shazam and Justice League Part Two.

Cyborg and The Green Lantern, the latter probably staring Ryan Reynolds, will finish off the slate of new movies in 2020.

Suicide Squad is being produced by Charles Roven, Richard Suckle and the Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice director, Zack Synder. 

More: Margot Robbie to star as Harley Quinn in Suicide Squad