Over four years after they released their second studio album Coexist, the popular and critically adored British indie act The XX have announced details of its follow-up, titled I See You, and released its first single.

The London trio’s third album will be released via the Young Turks label on January 13th 2017. Recorded in New York, Marfa, TX, Reykjavik, Los Angeles, and London over nearly two and a half years between March 2014 and August 2016, it was produced by Rodaidh McDonald and the band’s own Jamie Smith.

The xxThe xx receiving the Mercury Music Prize in 2010

Announcing details on Thursday (November 10th) via their official Twitter account, the band shared the I See You’s first single, ‘On Hold’, a sprawling track that samples Hall & Oates’ ‘I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)’.

“We know these are uncertain times and we hope the joy & love we found making the record will get out into the world, in however small a way,” the band wrote.

They’ve been working on the record for over three years, with the group announcing the commencement of studio work way back in September 2013. In the interim, Jamie Smith released his debut solo album In Colour under his moniker Jamie xx in May 2015, which featured his bandmates Romy Madley-Croft and Oliver Sim.

All this has followed a couple of weeks in which the band have been leaking snippets of their new music onto the internet. They’ll be appearing on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show on Thursday night from 7pm to chat about the new record, followed by an interview on Beats1 with Julie Adenuga from 8pm.

Check out the tracklist of the regular edition below – the deluxe box set edition will include three bonus tracks, but will only be physically stocked in independent stores.

01) Dangerous
02) Say Something Loving
03) Lips
04) A Violent Noise
05) Performance
06) Replica
07) Brave For You
08) On Hold
09) I Dare You
10) Test Me

More: What can we expect from The xx’s new album? [archive]