British pop star Taio Cruz has been named Songwriter of the Year for a second time at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) Awards in London.

The singer was honoured with the title for a second year in a row at a glitzy gala in the British capital on Wednesday night (10Oct12), winning for hit songs including Break Your Heart, Without You and Dynamite.

Cobra Starship's track You Make Me Feel was named Song of the Year, while other awards went to pop star Jessie J for her chart smash Price Tag and Irish rockers U2, who were honoured for their hits Beautiful Day and I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For.

Phil Collins was also feted for In the Air Tonight and Annie Lennox was honoured for her Eurythmics hit Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This).