Sam Smith was named Ciroc Solo Artist of the Year at the GQ Men of the Year Awards 2015 last night (08.09.15).

The 'Stay With Me' hitmaker revealed he was in the mood to celebrate as he was handed the accolade at the annual awards ceremony at London's Royal Opera House on the same day he announced he will be singing the official theme tune for upcoming James Bond movie 'Spectre'.

Speaking to MailOnline on the red carpet, he said: ''I've been keeping this secret for a year and it was intense. But I can't think of any better way to celebrate.''

Others stars to be honoured at the event included 'Unbroken' actor Jack O'Connell - who was named Vertu Breakthrough Actor - Actor of the Year winner Christoph Waltz, Breakthrough Musician of the Year James Bay and David Gandy, who was named Hugo Boss Most Stylish Man.

Elsewhere, Rolling Stones rocker Keith Richards - who walked the red carpet with his wife of 32 years Patti Hansen and his bandmate Ronnie Wood and his actress wife Sally Humphreys - was honoured with the Legend of the Year award for his contribution to the music industry over five decades.

Lionel Richie also received a special accolade as he was named Icon of the Year following his first ever performance at Glastonbury festival earlier this year.

And although the award ceremony was created to recognise the achievements of famous men, 'Game of Thrones' actress Emilia Clarke was also honoured with the Woman of the Year award.

The full list of winners were as follows:

Leading Man of the Year - Paul Rudd

Icon of the Year - Lionel Richie

Legend of the Year - Keith Richards

Woman of the Year - Emilia Clarke

Editor's Special Award of the Year - Jose Mourinho

TV Personality of the Year - James Corden

Comedian of the Year - Will Ferrell

Cultural Icon of the Year - J.J. Abrams

Politician of the Year - George Osborne

Sportsman of the Year - Lewis Hamilton

Ciroc Solo Artist of the Year - Sam Smith

Actor of the Year - Christoph Waltz

Band of the Year - Blur

Breakthrough Musician of the Year - James Bay

Designer of the Year - Kim Jones

Breakthrough Designer - Christopher Raeburn

Vertu Breakthrough Actor - Jack O'Connell

Hugo Boss Most Stylish Man - David Gandy

Creative Icon of the Year - Marc Newson

Inspiration of the Year - Giorgio Moroder

Writer of the Year - Nic Pizzolatto