The Rolling Stones have announced they will release their first studio album in over a decade on December 2, titled Blue and Lonesome.

The album is comprised of covers of songs by American blues artists, whose work was responsible for getting the band members into music in the first place.

The record was recorded by Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ronnie Wood and Charlie Watts last December in just three days at London's British Grove Studios.

More: Mick Jagger To Become A Father For The Eighth Time At 72

"The passion for blues music ... has always been at the heart and soul of The Rolling Stones", a statement said.

"Their approach to the album was that it should be spontaneous and played live in the studio without overdubs.”

Two of the album’s 12 tracks will feature a guest appearance from Eric Clapton, who happened to be recording his own album in the studio next door.

The track listing includes songs by artists such as Howlin' Wolf, Willie Dixon, Jimmy Reed, Eddie Taylor and Little Walter, whose music the band would cover in their early days.

More: Rolling Stones Hit Out At Donald Trump For Using Their Music

The band’s last studio album was 2005's A Bigger Bang, however they’ve have spent the last decade continually touring their classic material around the world.

The track listing for Blue and Lonesome is as follows:

‘Just Your Fool’

‘Commit A Crime’

‘Blue And Lonesome’

‘All Of Your Love’

‘I Gotta Go’

‘Everybody Knows About My Good Thing’

‘Ride ’Em On Down’

‘Hate To See You Go’

‘Hoo Doo Blues’

‘Little Rain’

‘Just Like I Treat You’

‘I Can’t Quit You Baby’