Roger Taylor Announces Brand New Album  'Fun On Earth' To Be Released This October 2013

Roger Taylor Announces Brand New Album 'Fun On Earth' To Be Released This October 2013

Roger Taylor, legendary rock icon and full-throttle drumming powerhouse, has confirmed the release of his fifth studio album 'Fun On Earth' in October alongside 'The Lot', the complete collection of his rich back catalogue of work spanning his solo career and material from The Cross, in stunning limited collectors editions and digital formats. 

'Fun on Earth' is one of Taylor's most exciting and accomplished pieces of work to date.  Recorded at Priory Studios, Surrey, the 13 track album is a triumphant display of superior musicianship showcasing Taylor at his vocal best.  'Say It's Not True' sees Taylor team up with Jeff Beck for the contemporary Queen favourite while the smooth refrains and heartfelt lyrics of 'Woman You're So Beautiful' and 'Be With You' come together with the powerful, reckless spirit of opening track 'One Night Stand' and 'I Am The Drummer (In A Rock n' Roll Band)' on what is an exhilarating, tour de force of rock music.

In an interview with Classic Rock Taylor says of the new album: "My first solo effort (in 1981) was called Fun in Space. Ive called this one Fun On Earth.  I've come down to earth a bit, but there's still a bit of fun in there - some smiley tracks.  It's been written over a five year period, so it's very eclectic.  Some gentle stuff, some rockier stuff, and some fairly political stuff."

With a juggernaut career spanning six decades, Taylor was the beating heart of Queen penning landmark hits 'Radio Ga Ga', 'A Kind of Magic' and 'Days of Our Lives' while enjoying success across the globe with accomplished solo material which reached the heights of the UK charts.  A true rock icon, 'Fun on Earth' proves that Taylor is still performing at the top of his game and with a body of work behind him that speaks for itself, 'The Lot' is a must-have collectors item for any discerning music lover. 

Taylor has also been working with The Queen Extravaganza, the official Queen tribute band, who are coming to the UK for the first time this October.  Having achieved resounding success in North America, the spectacular touring concert has already had to add more dates to its debut UK tour due to phenomenal demand.  The show is designed to take the glorious music and live experience of Queen and bring it to a new generation of fans - full tour dates below. 

Full details of 'Fun on Earth' and 'The Lot' including release date and tracklisting will be announced in the coming weeks. 

25 Southampton The Brook
27 Birmingham  O2 Academy
28 Oxford O2 Academy
29 Bournemouth  O2 Academy
30 Liverpool  O2 Academy
1 Sheffield O2 Academy
2 Leicester O2 Academy
3 Newcastle O2 Academy
4 Glasgow O2 ABC
6 London O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire
7 Reading  Sub 89
8 Worthing  Assembly Hall
10 Bath  Komedia
11 Manchester  Gorilla
12 Bristol  Fleece
All tickets priced o19.50 plus booking fee