Morr Music Reissues First Two Dump Albums 'Superpowerless' And 'I Can Hear Music'

Morr Music Reissues First Two Dump Albums 'Superpowerless' And 'I Can Hear Music'

Dump, the recording and performing alias of James McNew, is reissuing his long out-of-circulation LPs 'Superpowerless' (1993) and 'I Can Hear Music' (1994) on Morr Music. McNew has been the bassist from legendary lo-fi rockers Yo La Tengo since 1992. Remastered by Bob Weston (Shellac, Mission of Burma), the LPs are being released on vinyl for the first time ever. 'Superpowerless' will be available as a CD, a double LP or digital download, and 'I Can Hear Music' will be available as two CDs, a triple LP package or digitally. Both will be released with the original album artwork, bonus materials and detailed liner notes. The 7" split of 'Secret Blood'/'Slow Down' was released January 24th on Morr Music. 

Raised in Charlottesville, VA, McNew performed with Christmas from 1989 until they broke up two years later, at which point he joined Yo La Tengo. Yo La Tengo was known to have an extensive repertoire of covers-fittingly, McNew recorded an entire album of Prince covers as Dump. Tastefully chosen covers appear on much of his other recorded work. 

The Dump moniker officially began in 1991, but he didn't have any releases after that name until 'Superpowerless' came out two years later. McNew recorded most instruments-guitar, bass, drums, organ and vocals-by himself, except for the instances in which his Yo La Tengo bandmates joined him. McNew captured everything on a 4-track cassette recorder. 'It made more sense to me if someone recorded a song in the moment by themselves, and got it to me as soon as possible,' he said of the process. McNew much preferred the lo-fi aesthetic he gleaned from this process to the clean, polished sound obtained in a traditional studio setting. What's more, some of the instruments weren't instruments at all-Dump was known to have used 'cardboard boxes as bass-drums' and to have prized 'the victory of enthusiasm over perfection.' He recorded 'I Can Hear Music' in a living room, which is particularly apropos for the lo-fi style he aimed for. 

Dump has been joined onstage by his wife, Amy, his bandmates from Yo La Tengo, comedian Todd Barry and many more, and you can expect to see plenty of McNew with Yo La Tengo on the heels of their new release, 'Fade'. 

Superpowerless Tracklisting:

01. Hands Of Fear
02. So Sedimentary
03. Secret Blood
04. Good Medicine
05. Formerly One-Eye
06. Dark Road
07. Just For You
08. Outer Spaceways, Inc
09. The Sea Wall
10. Broken Conscience
11. Throw Out The Lifeline
12. The Quality Of Hurt
13. 19 ½
14. Moon River
15. Superpowerless
16. Ode To Shaggs' Own Thing
17. Love Theme From "Providence" 
18. Knox's Lament 
19. How Many Bells? 
20. Intro/ Nothing Left 
21. Down To The Sea In Ships 
22. Pennies From Heaven 
23. Christmas Card 
24. Snowman 
25. Bunny Boy 
26. Jaundice 
27. Bus-Kicker's Theme 

I Can Hear Music Tracklisting:


01. Slow Down 
02. Jury Duty 
03. Hope, Joe 
04. Into Fall 
05. Flap My Arms 
06. The Letter 
07. Relocation Program 
08. Ceilings 
09. Invisible 
10. Morning Morning 
11. Remembering 
12. Don't Let On 
13. Wanted Man 
14. Curl 
15. Zusaan Says 
16. Liberty Spikes 
17. Burning 
18. It's Not All Right 
19. Beyond The Door 
20. Never Comes 
21. Vienna 
22. Over 

CD 2

01. I Can Hear Music 
02. I Want To Be With You 
03. Class Of... 
04. No One, Never 
05. Dear Betty 
06. Acupuncture 
07. 8 Km High 
08. Bill Withers 
09. Slow Down 
10. Swimming Pool (Live) 

Listen to 'Secret Blood' here:

 Dump: Secret Blood by morrmusic 

Listen to 'Slow Down' here:

 Dump: Slow Down by morrmusic