Barrow and Salisbury are up against Alex Ebert (A Most Violent Year), Dominic Lewis (The Greater Good), Antonio Sanchez (Birdman), and Zhiyi Want (Highway of Love).

The coveted trophy will be presented at the World Soundtrack Awards, which will close the Film Fest Gent in Belgium.

The accolade is up for grabs among composers who have not scored more than six theatrically released feature films.

Meanwhile, Patrick Doyle will be presented with a lifetime achievement award as part of the ceremony and last year's (14) Discovery Award winner, Daniel Pemberton, will team up with the Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra for a salute to revered composer Alan Silvestri, who created scores for films like Back to the Future and Forrest Gump.

The night's top prize, Film Composer of the Year, will also be presented at the 24 October (15) ceremony. That will be a battle between Bruno Coulais, Alexandre Desplat, Michael Giacchino, Johann Johannsson and Hans Zimmer, whose Interstellar will also compete for Best Original Film Score Of The Year alongside Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Doyle's Cinderella, Desplat's The Imitation Game and Johannsson's The Theory of Everything.

Meanwhile, John Legend and Common's Oscar-winning Glory composition is the favourite to win the Best Original Song Written For A Film title. The track is up against The Apology Song from The Book of Life, Carry Me Home from Insurgent, Grateful from Beyond the Lights and Tell Me from Lost River.