Plain White T's are set to return with a brand new album entitled 'American Nights', featuring upbeat first single 'Pause'. It marks their first independent release for fourteen years, and judging by the new song, they're all the better for it.

Plain White T's at 2015 ASCAP Grammy Nominees Brunch
Plain White T's to unveil new album 'American Nights'

They're still best known for their Grammy nominated, multi-Platinum number one single 'Hey There Delilah' from 2006, but that doesn't mean that Plain WhiteT's is a band with little to offer. Far from the guitar based indie melodies of previous years, 'American Nights' sees them at their most pop, with 'Pause' offering lively vocal melodies, driving synths and a much gentler guitar feel, while still giving a kick with an energetic rhythm. In other words, if 'Pause' is anything to go buy, 'American Nights' will be chock full of summery anthems.

The album has been released totally independently, as the band (who are Tom Higgenson, Tim Lopez, Dave Tirio, De'Mar Hamilton and Mike Retondo) mark their departure from Hollywood Records with whom they released their last album, 2010's 'Wonders Of The Younger'. 'We had complete freedom', Tom revealed. 'We weren't worried about doing too many acoustic songs or too many rock songs. We just wanted to do the ones that told our story. We wanted to be honest, because that's always been what's connected us the most to our fans.'

More: Read our review of Plain White T's last album 'Wonders of the Younger'

In a bid to futher connect with their fanbase, they'll be promoting the album on a US tour this April, with dates in Chicago, New York and Los Angeles. 'American Nights' is set for release in the UK on April 28th 2015 and March 31st in the US.

Listen to 'Pause' here:

'American Nights' tracklist:
1. American Nights
2. Pause
3. Never Working
4. Heavy Rotation
5. Stay
6. You Belong
7. Dance Off Time
8. Someday You're Gonna Love Me
9. Love Again
10. Time To Move On
11. Here Come That Sunrise