One Tree Hill Soundtrack Volume 2

Friends With Benefit

Maverick Recordings

February 7, 2006

"One Tree Hill" Second Soundtrack Album To Benefit The National Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc.

The WB Network's successful drama "One Tree Hill" (OTH) has often offered its fans unique opportunities to interact with its characters and their storylines outside of traditional television viewing. However, the show's latest crossover element from the small screen hopes to directly benefit its core demographic -- young women -- by promoting greater awareness of early detection of breast cancer.

Click here for the One Tree Hill media player

This season on "OTH," Peyton Sawyer (series regular Hilarie Burton) began to build a relationship with her birth mother Ellie (guest star Sheryl Lee), who recently reappeared in her life and revealed she was battling breast cancer. Within the show's storylines, they began working together on a compilation CD that would benefit the National Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc. (NBCF) and in an interesting twist, that CD is now a reality. Called "Friends With Benefit," the very album that will be seen on the show is the soon-to-be-released (February 7, 2006) second "OTH" soundtrack album, with a portion of its proceeds going directly to the NBCF to assist in their efforts to promote early detection awareness among young women.

The new "OTH" soundtrack CD "Friends With Benefit" will feature original songs from Gavin DeGraw, Tyler Hilton and Bethany Joy Lenz (billed on the album as her character on the show 'Haley James Scott'), as well as tracks from Feeder, Jack's Mannequin, Audioslave, Nada Surf, Citizen Cope, Hot Hot Heat, Mozella, Shout Out Louds, Fall Out Boy, Jimmy Eat World, Michelle Featherstone and Strays Don't Sleep. Jack's Mannequin's song "The Mixed Tape" will be the first single and video from the soundtrack. At only 23, the band's singer Andrew McMahon, is in fact also a recent cancer survivor. After overcoming his illness, Andrew has refilmed his music video for "The Mixed Tape" which will premiere in February 2006 and stars Hilarie Burton from the show.

Music has always played a fundamental role on "OTH," both within the show and in real life. Music artists such as Gavin DeGraw (who sings the "OTH" theme song "I Don't Want To Be"), Sheryl Crow, Jimmy Eat World, The Wreckers (Michelle Branch's band) and Fall Out Boy have all appeared as themselves on the series, performing in one of the show's two fictional venues: Club Tric and Karen's Café. Nada Surf will appear in the January 18th episode. And in a case of art imitating life imitating art, last season saw series characters Chris Keller (real life singer/musician Tyler Hilton) and Haley James Scott (series regular Bethany Joy Lenz) go off on tour. This became a very successful real-life multi-city tour in the summer of 2005 with Tyler Hilton and Bethany Joy Lenz (some dates also featured Gavin DeGraw) performing in support of "OTH's" first soundtrack album, which debuted last January to brisk sales. This album featured an exclusive duet ("When The Stars Go Blue") performed by 'Chris' and 'Haley' on the series and following the tour's completion actress/singer Bethany Joy Lenz was offered a recording contract, with her first studio album set to debut later this year.


1. Feeder "Feeling A Moment"

2. Jack's Mannequin "The Mixed Tape"

3. Audioslave "Be Yourself"

4. Nada Surf "Always Love"

5. Gavin DeGraw "Jealous Guy"

6. Citizen Cope "Son's Gonna Rise"

7. Hot Hot Heat "Middle of Nowhere"

8. Tyler Hilton "Missing You"

9. Mozella "Light Years Away"

10. Shout Out Louds "Please Please Please"

11. Fall Out Boy "I've Got A Dark Alley And A Bad Idea That Says You Should Shut Your Mouth (Summer Song)"

12. Jimmy Eat World "23"

13. Haley James Scott "Halo"

14. Michelle Featherstone "Coffee Cigarettes"

15. Strays "Don't Sleep For Blue Skies" Have a great weekend!