Noah and the Whale guitarist Fred Abbott has unveiled a free download of his new song 'Funny How Good It Feels', ahead of the release of his debut solo album 'Serious Poke' this Summer. What more can we expect from the band members now they've gone their separate ways?

Noah And The Whale promo
Noah and The Whale split earlier this year

'Funny How Good It Feels' is a perfect Summer anthem from London-based Fred Abbott and even features rhythm section work from his former bandmates Michael Petulla and Matt 'Urby Whale' Owens. Recorded at British Grove Studios and co-produced by Martin Hollis, 'Serious Poke' is the first solo venture to come out of the indie collective's recent split.

'If you attended a Noah And The Whale soundcheck at any time in the last five years then you probably heard me, Urby, Mike and Tom jamming some of these songs', Fred admitted of the album. 'Last year while the band was on hiatus I took the opportunity to record them properly, with the boys from NATW and some other talented friends. Now that Noah has officially split the time seems right to put this stuff out there.'

Listen to 'Funny How Good It Feels' here:

Noah And The Whale, who first formed in 2006 and released four UK charting albums and epic singles such as '5 Years Time' and 'L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.', announced their split earlier this month over Facebook. 'We have had an incredible eight years together and are immensely grateful to everyone who has helped us along the way', they told their fans.

More: Read our live review of Noah and The Whale

Matt Owens is also preparing to release a debut album soon, entitled 'Songs For An Empty Room', also featuring guest appearances from his NATW bandmates. There have also been rumours that frontman Charlie Fink is making plans for a solo career, but details remain scarce.

'Serious Poke' will be released on July 20th 2015 through Lojinx.