Nate Ruess is the latest member of chart-topping indie band Fun to break off into a side-project, with his highly anticipated debut solo album 'Grand Romantic' now set for release this Summer with production from Jeff Bhasker and Emile Haynie.

Nate Ruess promo
Nate Ruess to release his debut solo album this Summer

The album sees the return of previous Fun collaborators as well as a bunch of other contributing artists such as Josh Klinghoffer of Red Hot Chili Peppers and Lykke Li, who both appear as guests on 'Grand Romantic''s upcoming lead single 'Nothing Without Love'; an uplifting pop anthem with a video directed by the much accomplished Anthony Mandler. Ruess first performed the track at this year's iHeartRadio Music Awards.

Ruess' venture into solo work follows the take off of Fun guitarist Jack Antonoff, who launched his own band Bleachers in 2014 with a debut album entitled 'Strange Desire'; Antonoff has also spent the last year co-writing for pop heroine Taylor Swift.

More: Watch the video for Bleachers - Rollercoaster

Meanwhile, Nate Ruess is in high demand across the music world, making numerous appearances in a variety of singles from his peers. Among them are Pink's multi-Platinum number one 'Just Give Me A Reason', Eminem's 'The Marshall Mathers LP 2' single 'Headlights' and 'Saturday Night' from Brian Wilson's comeback record 'No Pier Pressure'.

More: Watch the video for Eminem - Headlights ft. Nate Ruess

The Grammy winner's efforts will be recognised this year with the Hal David Starlight Award; an honour presented by the Songwriters Hall of Fame. While we're yet to see a solo tour from the Fun frontman, he will be making an appearance Japan's Fuji Rock Festival in July and San Francisco's Outside Lands Festival in August.

'Grand Romantic' will be released through Fueled By Ramen on June 16th 2015, with the lead single 'Nothing Without Love' set to precede it on June 1st.