Review of You Don't Know Album by Ninja Cuts

Various Artists
Ninja Cuts - You Don't Know
Album Review

Ninja Cuts You Don't Know Album

Ninja Tunes have been going 18 years now and they are releasing compilations to display tunes that signify where they've been and where they're going. Indeed just looking at the list of artists this label has released is truly impressive. There are so many amazing tracks and such a host of cutting edge talent and signature sounds that defined and pushed the boundaries of sampled music over this historic time. It's a must have.

So where to begin? It was great to hear tracks like 'Poison Dart' by The Bug and Ty's 'Wait A Minute' (Dwele remix). The MC's are amazing on this compilation from NMS to Bigg Juss, One Self and the mighty Roots Manuva. The list of innovator producers from Mr Scruff with a new cut 'Donkey Ride' to Ammoncontact to Coldcut. Fantastic bands like Bonobo to an amazing display by The Cinematic Orchestra with 'Rites of Spring' (Live at the Barbican). There are grime sounds of Wiley to guitar sounds of Kid Koala to dub folk blues with Fink. There's something for everyone who is into progressive music.

Listening to 'You Don't Know' it's clear to me how revolutionary Ninja Tunes have been. There are so many defining sounds and relevant tracks that display a form of music that has been pushing the musical boundaries. It's a pleasure to listen to so many great tunes and great value for anyone wanting to buy a collection from this label. Good stuff!

Tareck Ghoneim

Site -