M83 Have Released Their Theme Song To New Kosinski Film 'Oblivion', Starring Tom Cruise

M83 Have Released Their Theme Song To New Kosinski Film 'Oblivion', Starring Tom Cruise

M83 was formed as a musical vehicle by Anthony Gonzalez in 2001. Over the course of the next 10 years Gonzalez released six albums under the M83 name, including, most recently, the Grammy-nominated album 'Hurry Up, We're Dreaming' (2011). The supporting world tour for 'Hurry Up, We're Dreaming' lasted more than a year and saw Gonzalez enhance the growing reputation for the variety and excellence of M83's live performances. 

The track features acclaimed Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanne Sundfør, who rose to national prominence in her home country in 2007 aged only 20 and within a year was awarded the Spellemannprisen Grammy award for her eponymous debut album. Her subsequent albums "The Brothel" (2010) and "The Silicone Veil" (2012) further confirmed Sundfør's status as one of the leading songwriters of her generation. As an accomplished live performer Sundfør was invited to tour in Europe with M83 in the summer of 2012 and received both popular and critical acclaim for her performances.

The Oblivion Original Motion Picture Soundtrack features new music by Anthony Gonzalez of M83 and Joseph Trapanese (TRON: Uprising, The Raid: Redemption). The score features a hybrid of the traditional M83 electronic sound combined with sweeping orchestral elements. It has 16 score cues, along with a brand new song by M83 featuring Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanne Sundfør used as the end title for the film, which will release everywhere and in all formats on Friday 19th April 2013, through Back Lot Music.

Anthony Gonzalez discusses the scoring process:

"It was challenging, to say, writing the music for Oblivion during my tour with M83.  In the back of the tour bus, I had a small set up and was making music whenever I could. It was a little complicated at first but a great way to take a break from the tour and lose myself in Oblivion's score. Joseph Kosinski had a pretty good idea of what the music would be for the movie, and it took me finding a way to make him happy and make me happy during the process. The soundtrack is truly a collaboration between Joseph Kosinski, Joe Trapanese and myself."

"Scoring the film was a true enjoyment," Gonzalez continues. "It involved lots of stress, lots of sweat, and lots of hard work, but in the end, the soundtrack serves the movie very well. It really is a great Hollywood soundtrack. Oblivion is a big film with a big sound and a big orchestra, and while the soundtrack is different from my original idea, in the end I am very proud of it. I feel incredibly lucky to be a part of this journey."

Trapanese adds:   

"Joseph Kosinski and I have been talking about this film since before we finished our collaboration with Daft Punk on TRON: Legacy. While Oblivion is full of thrilling action and beautiful sci-fi landscapes and concepts, at its core is the story of love without bounds. It is a true honor to reunite with Joseph to create the musical elements of this new journey alongside M83's Anthony Gonzalez. Joseph has created another beautiful canvas to which Anthony and I can explore complex emotions and rich sonic textures. It was no easy task to score such an epic story, but we are all thrilled with what we were able to accomplish together."

Oblivion's director, Joseph Kosinski, concludes:

"Anthony creates music that is aspirational, emotional and uniquely his own.  I teamed him with Joe Trapanese, who I worked with on my first film and another phenomenal talent.  Together they have created the score that I have dreamed about since I first put this story down on paper eight years ago."  

Album track-listing: 

1. Jack's Dream (1:22) 
2. Waking Up (4:09) 
3. Tech 49 (5:58) 
4. StarWaves (3:41) 
5. Odyssey Rescue (4:08) 
6. Earth 2077 (2:22) 
7. Losing Control (3:56) 
8. Canyon Battle (5:58) 
9. Radiation Zone (4:11) 
10. You Can't Save Her (4:56) 
11. Raven Rock (4:33) 
12. I'm Sending You Away (5:38) 
13. Ashes Of Our Fathers (3:30) 
14. Temples Of Our Gods (3:14) 
15. Fearful Odds (3:09) 
16. Undimmed By Time, Unbound By Death (2:26) 
17. Oblivion (feat. Susanne Sundfør) (5:57)