Kendrick Lamar has released his new album To Pimp a Butterfly a week before its scheduled release date. There's a bit of confusion as to whether this was supposed to happen, or whether someone messed up.

Kendrick LamarKendrick Lamar has released his new album To Pimp a Butterfly, one week early

Lamar seemed pretty okay with things, tweeting, "Keep calm. All is well," though Anthony Tiffith, Top Dawg's chief executive, said, "I WOULD LIKE 2 PERSONALLY THANK @Interscope [Records] FOR [...]ING UP OUR RELEASE... SOMEBODY GOTS 2 PAY 4 THIS MISTAKE !!!! #TOP."

More: It's here! Kendrick Lamar's new album To Pimp a Butterfly arrives a week early. But nobody minds.

Other than the first three singles I, The Black the Berry and King Kunta, all the songs on To Pimp a Butterfly were unannounced. As it turns out, the album features the likes of Flying Lotus contemporary Thundercat, George Clinton and Snoop Dogg. The Isley Brothers frontman Ronald Isley also makes an appearance. 

One person who's most certainly enjoying the new record was none other than Taylor Swift, who tweeted, "KENDRICK PUT HIS ALBUM OUT EARLY. NO ONE TOUCH ME."

More: Kendrick Lamar samples Isley Brothers on New Track, "I" [listen]

The full tracklist for To Pimp a Butterfly, which is also available on Spotify, is as follows:

Wesley's Theory (ft. George Clinton & Thundercat)

For Free? (Interlude)

King Kunta

Institutionalized (ft. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)

These Walls (ft. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)



For Sale? (Interlude)


Hood Politics

How Much A Dollar Cost (ft. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)

Complexion (A Zulu Love) (ft. Rapsody)

The Blacker The Berry

You Ain't Gotta Lie (Momma Said)


Mortal Man