Justin Bieber was booed at the Juno Awards last night (30.03.14).

The 'Boyfriend' singer was honoured with the Fan Choice Award for the fourth time at the Canadian music awards ceremony, but it seems he wasn't a popular choice with all of the audience at Winnipeg's MTS Center as his name was met with ''a surprising mix of cheers and audible boos'', The Hollywood Reporter reports.

The 20-year-old star's prize was collected by Canada's Olympic women's curling team and the singer later took to twitter to thank fans for their support.

He tweeted: ''We won #JUNOFanChoice for the 4th year in a row! Love to all my beliebers. Thank u. Love u (sic)''

Justin was later defended by Serena Ryder when she picked up her award for Songwriter of the Year.

Serena - who also picked up Artist of the Year when some winners were announced on Saturday (29.03.14) - said: ''I really think that Justin Bieber is an amazing musician and he deserved every bit of that award because he's been working his ass off his entire life and we need to support how awesome he is.''

In other controversy at the show, Robin Thicke - who was nominated for three awards - cancelled his planned performance at the last minute, citing a need for vocal rest.

However, a petition had been online calling to have the 'Blurred Lines' singer axed for ''blatant sexism''.

Meanwhile, twin stars Tegan and Sara were the biggest winners, picking up Group of the Year, Single of the Year for 'Closer' and Pop Album of the Year for 'Heartthrob'.

Other winners at the Junos included Arcade Fire, who took home both Album of the Year and Alternative Album of the Year for 'Reflektor', and Drake, who took home the Rap Recording of the Year award for 'Nothing Was the Same'.

Randy Bachman, Fred Turner, Robbie Bachman and Blair Thornton of Bachman-Turner-Overdrive were inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.

The ceremony was jointly hosted by nominees Serena, Classified and Johnny Reid.

Juno Awards 2014 list of selected winners:

Fan Choice Award:

Justin Bieber

Single of the Year:

'Closer', Tegan and Sara

International Album of the Year:

'Unorthodox Jukebox', Bruno Mars

Album of the Year:

'Reflektor', Arcade Fire

Artist of the Year:

Serena Ryder

Group of the Year:

Tegan and Sara

Breakthrough Artist of the Year:

Brett Kissel

Breakthrough Group of the Year:

A Tribe Called Red

Songwriter of the Year:

Serena Ryder

Country Album of the Year:

'Crop Circles', Dean Brody

Adult Alternative Album of the Year:

'Forever Endeavour', Ron Sexsmith

Alternative Album of the Year:

'Reflektor', Arcade Fire

Pop Album of the Year:

'Heartthrob', Tegan and Sara

Rock Album of the Year:

'Coyote', Matt Mays

Rap Recording of the Year:

'Nothing Was the Same', Drake

Dance Recording of the Year:

'This is What it Feels Like', Armin van Buuren & Trevor Guthrie Armada

Video of the Year:

'Feeling Good', Matt Barnes