'The Big Bang Theory' isn't going anywhere soon, not until 2017 at least. CBS announced on Wednesday (March 12th) that it has ordered three more seasons of the hugely successful sitcom.

The Big Bang Theory
'The Big Bang Theory' will air on CBS for three more seasons

The geeky-themed show will now run for ten seasons, until the 2016-2017 television calendar, which puts it on the same par as the universally loved sitcom 'Friends'.

'Big Bang' is currently in its seventh season and is the highest-rated scripted series on broadcast television, in the key 18-49 demographic audience, averaging 19.79 viewers per episode.

Since Chuck Lorre created the show in 2007, it has seen an ample amount of success, winning five Emmy-Awards and one Golden-Globe, but this is mainly due to the work of the fan favorite character 'Dr Sheldon Cooper,' who is portrayed by Jim Parsons.

The Big Bang Theory
The cast of the sitcom will stay together for at least ten seasons

"Comedy is a big part of our schedule, and The Big Bang Theory is the biggest comedy force on television," Nina Tassler, CBS Entertainment Chairman Nina Tassler, said in a press release Wednesday.

"This multi-year deal further strengthens our network's position for future seasons and marks another chapter in the great partnership CBS enjoys with Warner Bros. Television for delivering audiences the best in comedy. We're proud to work with and showcase the incredible talents of Chuck Lorre, Steve Molaro and this amazing cast every week."

The Big Bang Theory
'Big Bang' is the highest-rated scripted show on broadcast television

'The Big Bang Theory' stars Johnny Galecki, Jim Parsons, Kaley Cuoco-Sweeting, Simon Helberg, Kunal Nayyar, Mayim Bialik and Melissa Rauch. It is executively produced by Chuck Lorre, Steve Molaro and Bill Prady.

The hit comedy airs on CBS every Thursday at 8pm.