Howling Bells Announce New Album 'Heartstrings' And Stream First Single 'Slowburn' [Listen]

Howling Bells Announce New Album 'Heartstrings' And Stream First Single 'Slowburn' [Listen]

Howling Bells return with their stunning new album, 'Heartstrings', on 2nd June. Recorded at London's Assault and Battery Studios with producers Catherine J Marks and Alan Moulder, the album is preceded by a single, 'Slowburn', on 7th April. The band will celebrate the release of the single with a live show at London's Oslo, also on 7th April.

'Heartstrings' is Howling Bells' fourth album, and the first they have recorded in their adopted hometown of London (the band's debut, 'Howling Bells' (2006), was demoed in Australia and recorded in Liverpool, while 'Radio Wars' (2009) and 'The Loudest Engine' (2011) saw the band decamp to Los Angeles and Las Vegas respectively).

Taking a different approach to the making of their previous records, Howling Bells made the recording of 'Heartstrings' an intense process, laying down a track a day for 11 days, resulting in a potent collection of songs. "Having a deadline means you're forced to make crucial artistic decisions in a very short time. You don't have the luxury of overthinking. I feel this process shaped the album. As a result, you become incredibly connected to the musical spirit of the band." says frontwoman Juanita Stein. "We loved every second of it".   

The full tracklisting for 'Heartstrings' is: Paris; Possessed; Your Love; Slowburn; Tornado; Euphoria; Paper Heart; Original Sin; Reverie; Heartstrings.

Howling Bells are Juanita Stein (Vocals, Guitar), Joel Stein (Guitar),  Glenn Moule (Drums) and Gary Daines (Bass).