Noughties indie-folk favourites Fleet Foxes have announced details of their first new album in six years, which is titled Crack-Up and is due for release on June 16th via Nonesuch Records.

The Seattle-based group also shared the first taster from the new album, their third effort, entitled ‘Third of May / Odaigahara’, which clocks in at an epic nine minutes, in the form of a lyric video.

Crack-Up is the first new studio album that Fleet Foxes have announced since 2011’s Helplessness Blues. Inspired by a F Scott Fitzgerald essay of the same name, all 11 tracks on the new album have been written by the band’s leader Robin Pecknold, who has also produced the record in tandem with bandmate Skyler Skjelset.

Fleet FoxesFleet Foxes performing at Way Out West in 2011

Crack-Up was recorded at various studios across the United States between July 2016 and January 2017. Phil Ek, a long-term associate of the band, mixed the album, and it was mastered by Greg Calbi.

More: Revisit our review of Fleet Foxes’ 2008 classic debut album [archive]

After their critically adored and popular 2008 debut album Fleet Foxes and its 2011 follow-up, the band slipped into an unofficial hiatus, with Pecknold going back to college and immersing himself in a number of side-projects, occasionally teasing fans with the possibility of new music.

Having previously included the likes of Josh Tillman (aka Father John Misty) in their ranks, the current Fleet Foxes line-up consists of Pecknold, Skjelset, Casey Wescott, Christian Wargo, and Morgan Henderson.

In addition to today’s announcement, the band have revealed a string of tour dates in North America, including select dates with indie experimentalists Animal Collective and dream-pop duo Beach House. They will also play their first shows in six years during a four-night stint at the Sydney Opera House Concert Hall, and will headline the Newport Folk Festival.

More: Sound of Seattle: Budweiser Made In America – see how music has changed in the noisy city [archive]