The musicians were among the 40 artists featured on the long list last month (Jun15), but on Thursday (16Jul15), the nominations were whittled down to just 10 finalists.

Drake's If You're Reading This It's Too Late, Sainte-Marie's Power In The Blood and The New Pornographers' Brill Bruisers all made it, alongside Tobias Jesso Jr.'s Goon, BadBadNotGood & Ghostface Killah's Sour Soul, Deep In The Iris by Braids, Jennifer Castle's Pink City and Our Love from Caribou.

Viet Cong and Alvvays' self-titled releases complete the top 10, which are recognised as the best from Canadian artists in the past year.

The winner will be unveiled during the Polaris Music Prize Gala in Toronto, Canada on 21 September (15).

Tanya Tagaq was named last year's (14) Polaris Prize winner for Animism, while other previous honourees include Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Feist, and Arcade Fire.