Dr Dre has finally announced he’s releasing a new album, his first in 16 years. Speaking on his 'The Pharmacy' show on Apple Music, Dre revealed the record was titled Compton: A Soundtrack and will hit iTunes and Apple Music on August 7th.

Dr DreDre Dre has announced new album, Compton: A Soundtrack.

The album is not a soundtrack to upcoming N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton, but has instead been inspired by the film, which will hit cinemas on August 14th. The 16 track album will feature guest appearances by Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg and The Game.

Speaking about the album, Dre told The Pharmacy listeners, "During principal photography, I felt myself going to the studio and being so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album.”

More: Dr Dre To Host New Show 'The Pharmacy' On Apple Music's Beats 1

"I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished. It's bananas. It's an 'inspired by' album. It's inspired by Straight Outta Compton, we're gonna call the album Compton: The Soundtrack. I'm really proud of this." Dre said, adding that the album his "grand finale.”

The rapper also revealed why his third album Detox never saw the light of day, "It just wasn't good. This is something you're not gonna hear many artists say. The reason Detox didn't come out was because I didn't like it. It wasn't good," he admitted.

More: 'Straight Outta Compton' Trailer Features Dr Dre, Ice Cube [Trailer + Pictures]

"I'm gonna keep it all the way one-thousand with you, seriously. I worked my ass off on it, I don't think I did a good enough job, and I couldn't do that to my fans and I couldn't do that to myself, to be perfectly honest with you. I just wasn't feeling it.”

The track listing for Compton: A Soundtrack is as follows:

1. “Intro”

2. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez & Justus)

3. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)

4. “It’s All On Me” (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)

5. “All In a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)

6. “Darkside/Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)

7. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)

8. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)

9. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)

10. Jon Connor - “One Shot One Kill” (feat. Snoop Dogg)

11. The Game - “Just Another Day” (feat. Asia Bryant)

12.“For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)

13. “Satisfiction” (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)

14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)

15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)

16. “Talking to My Diary”