RM Hubbert beat out popular Scottish outfits Django Django and The Twilight Sad to take Scottish Album of The Year at a ceremony at Glasgow's Barrowland Ballroom last night. The prize saw Hubbert receive £20,000 and an exclusive piece of artwork created by Emma Reid, of Glasgow School of Art, and Gregor Morrison, of Edinburgh College of Art.

Hubbert said in a statement: "I am shocked and delighted at winning. I never expected it. It is testament to all my collaborators that we won." John Williamson, chair of the judging panel, added: "In the view of the judges, RM Hubbert’s album was the one that encapsulated and engaged the most." The judging panel included an array of musicians, journalists, DJs and visual artists: Douglas Anderson, Christopher Brookmyre, Stewart Cruickshank, Tom Doyle, Douglas Gordon, Kate Molleson, Joe Muggs, Jude Rogers, Tjinder Singh, Rebecca Vasmant and Sue Wilson.

Django DjangoDjango Django missed out

Competition for the prize was tight, with ‘Tree Bursts In Snow' by Admiral Fallow, 'self-titled albums by Django Django and Human Don't Be Angry, 'Traces' by Karine Polwart, 'Race The Loser' by Lau, 'Something For The Weakened' by Meursault, 'Mid Air' by Paul Buchanan, 'Reject' by Stanley Odd and 'No One Can Ever Know' by The Twilight Sad. The solo guitarist has been a stalwart on the Glasgow scene, but rose to prominence with Thirteen Lost & Found.

Twilight SadSo did The Twilight Sad.