The actress joins Disney star Zendaya Coleman, country singer Brett Eldredge and actress-turned-Paralympian Amy Purdy, among others, who will decide the winner from 52 women representing their home states and territories at the competition, which will take place in Atlantic City, New Jersey on 13 September (15).

In a statement, MCKellar writes, "The Miss America Organization shares my passion for the advancement of women in the STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) fields and celebrates smart, strong women...

"I am proud to be part of the show and an organization that is such a huge advocate for education."

Pop star Nick Jonas will serve as the event's official music curator, while actress Brooke Burke-Charvet will co-host the annual contest.