The 74 year old singer's new release beats out albums by Drake, The New Pornographers, Viet Cong and Caribou.

The prize was handed out at a ceremony in Toronto on Monday night (21Sep15).

The 196 jury members picked this year's (15) winner from a long list of almost 200 titles.

Past Polaris Music Prize winners include punk act F**ked Up, Godspeed! You Black Emperor and Feist. Tanya Tagaq picked up the accolade in 2014.