The legendary Bob Dylan is set to release his 35th studio album 'Tempest' on the 50th year of his innovative artistry since his self-titled debut record.

Columbia Records made the announcement revealing the album, featuring ten brand new songs, will be released on September 10th 2012; 50 years since Columbia released 1962's 'Bob Dylan' record. Produced under Dylan's pseudonym Jack Frost, 'Tempest' is to follow the vast success of his last album (not including his festive record 'Christmas in the Heart' released in the same year) 'Together Through Life' released in 2009 which was his first album to reach number one in both the UK and the US charts.

In fact, his last four albums from 1997 have been the most successful and acclaimed in his career as a musician. That year brought us 'Time Out of Mind' which featured the song 'Make You Feel My Love' which was covered by record-breaking artist Adele. The album earned him 3 Grammy Awards and was certified Platinum. Following that was 2001's 'Love and Theft' which reached Gold and 2.5 million copy selling 'Modern Times' in 2006 which earned 2 Grammys.

The vast majority of Dylan's records were released through Columbia Records; a label that have signed a varied selection of artists including One Direction, The Offspring, Rita Ora, Adele, Beyonce and Susan Boyle.

Dylan has received the Presidential Medal of Freedom which is the highest civilian award in the United States as well as being honoured with numerous doctorates from universities including St. Andrews and Princeton.