Birdman was the big winner at the American Society of Cinematographers (Asc) awards gala on Sunday night (15Feb15) after scooping the top prize.

Cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki saw off competition from Roger Deakins (Unbroken), Oscar Faura (The Imitation Game), DICk Pope (Mr. Turner) and Robert Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel) to land the top feature film prize for a second year running, following his success with Gravity in 2014.

Lubezki now holds the record with four Asc feature film wins along with In Cold Blood cinematographer Conrad L. Hall.

At the Los Angeles ceremony, Tv shows Boardwalk Empire and Manhattan took prizes, while Barbra Streisand was handed the Board of Governors Award for her career in film.