New Order has signed a worldwide deal with Mute.

The English rock band, which was formed in 1980 following the demise of Joy Division, has inked a contract with the legendary independent label and is planning to release its tenth studio album next year.

The group said: ''New Order are delighted to be signing to Mute. We couldn't imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team.

''Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own.

''In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots.''

The band - consisting of Bernard Sumner, STEPHEN MORRIS, Gillian Gilbert, Phil Cunningham and Tom Chapman - have already penned eight songs for the upcoming album, but are remaining tight-lipped on any further information to do with the release.

Mute's Daniel Miller added: ''This is an exciting new chapter for both Mute and New Order and I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history.

''When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order.

''We've already had a number of creative conversations and I am looking towards an exciting future.''

Meanwhile, Mute, which was founded in 1978, has developed an amazing array of innovative artists, including Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, Plastikman and Moby.