Mercury Music Prize winners Alt-J could well be adding an Ivor Novello award to their collection of gongs, NME announced today (April 17, 2013). The band have been nominated in the Best Contemporary Song category for their song Fitzpleasure, alongside Plan B’s Ill Manors and The Maccabees Pelican. Alt J won last year’s Mercury Music Prize for their debut album An Awesome Wave. The album has also been nominated in the Album Award category, alongside Beon Howard’s Every Kingdom and Lianne La Havas’ Is Your Love Big Enough?

The awards ceremony celebrates songwriting ability and the remainder of the categories are Best Song Musically and Lyrically, Best Contemporary Song, PRS for Music Most Performed Work, Best Original Film Score and Best Television Soundtrack.

The full list of nominees is below. The 58th annual Ivor Novello awards will take place on May 16th, 2013 at London’s Grosvenor House.

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Bat For Lashes - 'Laura'

Emeli Sande - 'Next To Me'

Jake Bugg - 'Two Fingers'

Best Contemporary Song

Alt-J - 'Fitzpleasure'

Plan B - 'Ill Manors'

The Maccabees - 'Pelican'

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Olly Murs - 'Dance With Me Tonight'

Emeli Sande - 'Next To Me'

Coldplay - 'Paradise'

Album Award

Alt-J - 'An Awesome Wave'

Ben Howard - 'Every Kingdom'

Lianne La Havas - 'Is Your Love Big Enough?'

Best Original Film Score­­­­­­­­­­­­

Anna Karenina

Dr Seuss’

The Lorax

Ill Manors

Best Television Soundtrack

Lucian Freud: Painted Life

The Mystery Of Edwin Drood

Upstairs Downstairs Series 2