The Murder, She Wrote star will receive a Doctorate of Fine Arts degree from the American Film Institute Conservatory for her "contributions of distinction to the art of the moving image".

She will pick up the honour during the school's commencement ceremony at the TCL Chinese Theatre in Los Angeles on 10 June (15).

Oscar-nominated screenwriter Kasdan, who co-wrote the scripts for films such as The Empire Strikes Back, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Return of the Jedi, will be presented with the same honorary degree.

Previous recipients include actors Clint Eastwood, Mel Brooks, Dame Helen Mirren, and directors Kathryn Bigelow, Nora Ephron and Spike Lee.