Wye Oak Announce New Album 'Shriek' Out April 28th 2014

Wye Oak Announce New Album 'Shriek' Out April 28th 2014

Following extensive touring in support of their critically acclaimed 2011 release 'Civilian', which - for the UK - culminated in 2 performances at The National's ATP and a Scala headline show in December 2012, Wye Oak members Jenn and Andy found themselves apart for the first time. Andy had recently moved to the west coast, leaving their hometown of Baltimore.
Simultaneously but separately, the two began exploring new ways of writing. Jenn, having picked up the bass did not begin with her typical guitar and likewise Andy began to explore different ways of layering keyboards. Both worked with other people and Jenn explored other moods under the titles Dungeonesse and Flock of Dimes.
The freedom of these new methods allowed for a new found emotional immediacy and in spite of, or perhaps because of the distance, Wye Oak have recorded their most personal album yet. 
'Shriek' was a co-production between Wye Oak and Nicolas Vernhes of the Rare Book Room in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. Vernhes also engineered and mixed the album. His inventive production work complimented the band's new direction, helping them to create their immensely layered and emotive new sound.
Wye Oak will be on tour throughout the spring beginning 3 March and including stops at bothCoachella and SXSW. Other highlights include a sold out show at The Lexington in London, theM4M Music Festival in Zurich and Webster Hall in New York City on 7 May.  All confirmed dates are below - more to follow!

Fans can pre-order the album starting today, via iTunes as well as through the City Slang webshop  - 'Shriek' will be available on both CD and LP, including a limited run on orange vinyl.

Wye Oak Tourdates:
7 - 16.03 SXSW, Austin Texas
20.03. London UK - Lexington (SOLD OUT)
21.03. Brussels BE - Botanique
22.03. Amsterdam NL - MC Theatre
25.03. Berlin DE - Privatclub
28.03. Zurich CH - M4Music Festival
29.03. Istanbul TR - IKSV
11.04 Coachella Festival
18.04 Coachella Festival

'Shriek' tracklist:
1. Before
2. Shriek
3. The Tower
4. Glory
5. Sick Talk
6. School Of Eyes
7. Despicable Animal
8. Paradise
9. I Know The Law
10. Logic Of Color