Coldplay - Coldplay announce new album Ghost Stories


Coldplay have announced their new album is called 'Ghost Stories'.

The super-group - comprised of frontman Chris Martin, guitarist Jonny Buckland, bassist Guy Berryman and drummer Will Champion - will release their sixth studio LP on May 19 and it will be preceded by single 'Magic'.

Coldplay have also revealed a full tracklisting for the album, which includes 'Midnight' - the Jon Hopkins produced track which they streamed on their official site in February.

Fans can now pre-order the hotly-anticipated release from iTunes worldwide and anyone who pre-orders the album will receive an instant download of the single 'Magic'.

The 'Midnight' video was directed by Mary Wigmore shows Chris and his bandmates walking through a woodland, and the black and white promo later flashes different colours and a fox moves among the grass.

The electronic track - which features Chris' voice put through a vocoder - is a big departure from the band's usual melodies and big choruses.

Coldplay have also been announced as one of the acts performing at at the iTunes Festival at SXSW in Austin, Texas. They will open the festival on March 11. The performance will stream live and on-demand worldwide for free via the iTunes Store.

Speaking about the upcoming gig, Will said: ''We're really looking forward to the first ever iTunes Festival in the US, and are thrilled to be asked to play on the opening night. It's a great honour for our band and we hope everyone has a fantastic time.''

'Ghost Stories' full tracklisting:

1. 'Always In My Head'

2. 'Magic'

3. 'Ink'

4. 'True Love'

5. 'Midnight'

6. 'Another's Arms'

7. 'Oceans'

8. 'A Sky Full Of Stars'

9. 'O'


Tags: Coldplay - Chris Martin - Jonny Buckland - Guy Berryman - Will Champion


More Coldplay

Jennifer Lawrence To Join Chris Martin On Coldplay Tour?

All the hot gossip over the last few weeks has had it that Coldplay frontman Chris Martin is romantically involved with actress Jennifer Lawrence. More...

NFL Asks Super Bowl Half Time Acts To 'Pay To Play'

The National Football League has taken the unprecedented step of asking potential performers at the Super Bowl Half Time show to ‘pay to play’. Traditionally,...

If Music Was Chris Martin’s Saviour, Coldplay Turned Royal Albert Hall Into A House Of Worship

Chris Martin is a man saved; by music, that is. The Coldplay musician has endured a tough year plastered over the tabloids with his recently...

Mariah Carey Fails To Land Billboard No.1 as Coldplay Reigns Supreme

Mariah Carey was beaten to the Billboard 200 top spot this week after her record "Me: I Am Mariah. The Elusive Chanteuse' entered at No.3...


Sam Smith's Debut Is 2014's Speediest Seller With No.1 Triumph

Sam Smith must feel on top of the world after his album, In The Lonely Hour, not only struck number one in the UK charts...

Coldplay Nabs Fourth Number One Album, But Did Spotify Play A Role?

For a band that has been around for as long as Coldplay, you’d figure at some point they would be showing some signs of slowing...

A Week In News: Weed, Boobs, Ghosts, Guns...And A Wedding

The Wedding: Kim and Kanye got married last weekend. Kthxbai. It has been pretty hard to avoid but if you want to know more about...

Coldplay Break 2014 Records With "Ghost Stories's" Billboard Debut

Coldplay’s sixth studio album “Ghost Stories” landed straight at No. 1 in the Billboard chart on its debut this week. The record sold 383,000 million...



Coldplay Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Coldplay

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All