Man Meets Bear Streams New Track 'Waabgonii Giizis' [Listen]

Man Meets Bear Streams New Track 'Waabgonii Giizis' [Listen]

Man meets Bear is a musical project of Soren Little Brothers, a Canadian aquatic ecologist who studies the synergistic connections between lakes and the surrounding land and atmosphere. Although the lake scientist is from Toronto, Man meets Bear is also the name of a totem pole in British Columbia which depicts an image of a man climbing up a tree, facing a bear climbing down the tree. Man meets Bear also frequently includes a solar engineer on drums (Dave Dunnet), and Experimental Housewife on keyboards (Evelyn Malinowski). Roughly 18 Man meets Bear albums have been released since 2002, each album exploring a certain theme, or the time and place of its creation. Man meets bear has also collaborated directly with various artists including Dirty Beaches, Aidan Baker (of Nadja), The Winks, the White Funz (Scotland), and Crystal Shipsss/Jacob Faurholt (Denmark), while sharing the stage with artists such as Toby Goodshank (of the Moldy Peaches), Adrian Orange, and Arrington de Dionyso (of Old Time Religion), among many others. The most recent album by Man meets Bear is Waagaaskingaa, which addresses the return of Man meets Bear to its home in Ontario after an absence of 12 years.

Release Date: June 21, 2014
1) A Spell to Remember
2) Waabgonii Giizis
3) Amik Dodeman
4) Bekaa
5) Honey Locust
6) Waagaaskingaa
7) Sorrow Gold
8) Trembling Poplar
9) Jeesekeewin
10) First Snow
11) Oshkawbaewis
12) Mudjeekawis
13) Waabnong
14) Berlin, Berlin
15) Blue Sail Slumber
16) O:se Kenhionata:tie
17) Giizhigaande Mkwa
18) Niibiishan
19) Epngishmok
20) Apowawin
21) Ojibway Prairie
22) Birch Island
23) Wiigwaasabak
24) Beedaubun

Photo Credit: Matthias Heiderich