Liam Hayes Announces New Album 'Slurrup' Released January 12th 2015

Liam Hayes Announces New Album 'Slurrup' Released January 12th 2015

Chicago-based singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Liam Hayes has announced the release of his 4th studio album 'Slurrup', which will be released worldwide via Fat Possum on January 12 via digital download, CD and vinyl.

Hayes has been making critically acclaimed pop records since 1994, when he released the single "Three-Quarters Blind Eyes" under the stage name Plush.

Considered by many to be a pop classic, it helped establish Hayes as a songwriter. Although he emerged from the Chicago indie-rock scene, Hayes is often compared with artists such as Jimmy Webb, Brian Wilson, Laura Nyro, Burt Bacharach and Harry Nilsson.

LP's 'More You Becomes You' followed in 1998 and then 'Fed' in 2002, both released as Plush records but it was 2009's 'Bright Penny' which was the first full length studio album to be released under Hayes' real name.

Hayes' aptitude for artfully plundering the past without ever repeating himself has earned him a global cult following (and a cameo in Stephen Frears' High Fidelity) long before director Roman Coppola tapped him to score last year's A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III.
Described by Uncut as 'one of the most charismatic and eccentric cult pop craftsmen of the past 20 years', Hayes has a newly completed album right around the corner, to be released worldwide on Fat Possum on January 12th, 2015.
While comparably retro, Hayes' newly completed 'Slurrup' is leaner and meaner than anything he's done all millennium.
Having recently been on tour in the US supporting Christopher Owens, Hayes will be heading to UK shores soon, dates to be announced.
The track listing for 'Slurrup' is as follows:
1. "Slurrup"
2. "One Way Out"
3. "Nothing Wrong"
4. "Get It Right"
5. "Theme From Mindball"
6. "Fokus"
7. "Greenfield"
8. "Keys to Heaven"
9. "Long Day"
10. "Channel 44"
11. "Outhouse"
12. "August Fourteenth"
13. "Fight Magic with Magic"