I Am The Avalanche Announce Spring 2014 Tour Dates

I Am The Avalanche Announce Spring 2014 Tour Dates

I Am The Avalanche also recently announced its brand new full-length album titled Wolverines. Being released through I Surrender Records on Tuesday, March 18, Wolverines was produced and engineered by the band's drummer Brett "The Ratt" Romnes at The Barber Shop Studios in Lake Hopatcong, NJ and mixed by Will Yip. Encompassing ten songs full of heart, ferocity, relentless passion and, of course, struggle, Wolverines follows the band's sophomore album, the acclaimed Avalanche United (2011),

Currently, Esquire.com is streaming the first track from Wolverines titled "The Shape I'm In," whose lyrics, penned by singer Vinnie Caruana, were inspired by a serious physical injury he sustained last year while on tour, and the physical and emotional pain he had to grapple with and overcome.

To the members of I Am The Avalanche - Vinnie Caruana (vocals), Brandon Swanson (guitar),Brett "The Ratt" Romnes (drums) and John Oliva (bass) - Wolverines is their most anthemic and cohesive full-length album to date and stands as a fitting body of work to the band's natural progression. Their self-titled debut record, released in 2005, was the sound of a band finding themselves in the context of their scene that, through their associations, couldn't help but define them, even if they didn't want them to. The band's second album, Avalanche United, was written across a long, drawn-out six-year period, and the uncertainty of their situation during that time pierces that particular record's constructs.

There were no such problems with Wolverines, however - it's a powerful record through and through, a complete set of songs that each play a specific and vital part on the album. "I think it's our most well thought-out and least rushed record," says Caruana. "Times spent at rock bottom and also feelings of personal triumph have shaped what I feel is the perfect record for us as a band and for our supporters as well."

I Am The Avalanche will be making the following U.S. appearances during March and April. Tour dates below.


17 - Long Island, NY - Looney Tunes (in-store)
18 - Rochester, NY - Bug Jar  *
19 - Syracuse, NY - Lost Horizon  *
20 - Pittsburgh, PA - Smiling Moose  *
21 - Detroit, MI - Shelter  *
22 - Chicago, IL - Subterranean  *
23 - Cleveland, OH - Now That's Class  *
25 - Poughkeepsie, NY - The Loft  *
26 - Boston, MA - Great Scott  *
27 - Philadelphia, PA - Barbary  *
28 - New York, NY - Marlin Room at Webster Hall (w/ The Swellers, Turnover, Bellwether)
29 - Asbury Park, NJ - Asbury Lanes (w/ The Swellers)
08 - Seattle, WA - Vera Project  #
09 - Portland, OR - Star Theater  #
11 - San Francisco, CA - Thee Parkside  #
12 - Los Angeles, CA - The Roxy  #
13 - Anaheim, CA - Chain Reaction  #
15 - San Diego, CA - Che Café  #

* = w/ The Swellers and Turnover
# = w/ Diamond Youth and Turnover

Wolverines track listing:
01. Two Runaways
02. 177
03. The Shape I'm In
04. Young Kerouacs
05. Wolverines
06. Anna Lee
07. Save Your Name
08. Where Were You?
09. My Lion Heart
10. One Last Time