Defeater New Album 'Letters Home' Out Now

Defeater New Album 'Letters Home' Out Now

A band known for their captivating and comprehensive storytelling just as much as their elaborate and complex music, Massachusetts' Defeater today, release their third full-length album, Letters Home, which is their absolute best work yet.  These ten new tracks are heavy and haunting, while lyrically poignant and continuing the story of a working class family living in post-WWII America.  Letters Home revolves around the father of two brothers that listeners were introduced to in two of Defeater's prior releases (Travels and most recently Empty Days & Sleepless Nights), giving a background to the character and seeing some of the events from those past albums through his eyes.  Vocalist Derek Archambault commented, "Inspiration for this record came from a few places. Much like with Lost Ground, these stories are based around my two grandfathers' service in WWII ."  He continued, "Musically the record hearkens back to Travels and Lost Ground.  EDSN was a bit of a departure for us, and I think we took some good chances on that record butLetters Home brings it back to why we started this band in the first place five years ago."

Letters Home is legitimately Defeater's heaviest body of music thus far - featuring powerfully intricate guitar instrumentation, colossal-sounding drums, and Archambault's voice sounding more ferocious than ever before.  Guitarist Jay Maas remarked, "Letters Home is more focused on sounding dirty and mean, but at the same time we have improved as songwriters so some of these ten tracks are our most accessible."  The album was once again recorded at Maas's own Getaway Recording Studio (where the band's prior releases were also tracked), and features the first recorded appearance by Defeater's new drummer Joe Longobardi who ".is some kind of drum wizard. His memory for organising parts is sincerely inhuman, and he has such amazingly tasteful composition skills.  Everything he plays just feels meant to be which really lends itself to an easier time for the rest of us", said Maas.  Second guitarist Jake Woodruff returns for Letters Home, as well as bassist Mike Poulin, and Derek Archaumbault on vocals and Jay Maas on guitar; all lending their skills to the newest chapter in Defeater's story.

This ten-song album is out now on Bridge Nine Records.  Maas continued, "This is my favourite Defeater release; I think it pulls from all of the band members' influences collectively and I can't wait for people to hear it.  July 16th can't come soon enough."

Letters Home Track Listing:

1. Bastards
2. No Shame
3. Hopeless Again
4. Blood In My Veins
5. No Relief
6. No Faith
7. Dead Set
8. No Savior
9. Rabbit Foot
10. Bled Out


11 - Mansfield, MA @ Comcast Center - Warped Tour
12 - Camden, NJ @ Susquehanna Bank Center - Warped Tour
13 - Uniondale, NY @ Nassau Coliseum - Warped Tour
14 - Hartford, CT @ Comcast Theater - Warped Tour
16 - Scranton, PA @ Toyota Pavilion - Warped Tour
17 - Burgettstown, PA @ First Niagara Pavilion - Warped Tour
18 - Cuyahoga Falls, OH @ Blossom Music Center - Warped Tour
19 - Auburn HIlls, MI @ Palace  - Warped Tour
20 - Tinley Park, IL @ First Midwest Bank Amphitheater  - Warped Tour
21 - Shakopee, MN @ Canterbury Park - Warped Tour
23 - Kansas City, KS @ Cricket Wireless Amphitheater  - Warped Tour
24 - Maryland Heights, MO @ Verizon Wireless Amphitheater - Warped Tour
25 - Atlanta, GA @ Aaron's Amphitheater at Lakewood - Warped Tour
26 - St. Petersburg, FL @ Vinoy Park - Warped Tour
27 - W. Palm Beach, FL @ Cruzan Amphitheater  - Warped Tour
28 - Orlando, FL @ Central FL Fairgrounds - Warped Tour
29 - Charlotte, NC @ Verizon Wireless Amphitheater - Warped Tour
30 - Cincinnati, OH @ Riverbend Music Center - Warped Tour
31 - Milwaukee, WI @ Marcus Amphitheater - Warped Tour
2 - Dallas, TX @ Gexa Energy Pavilion - Warped Tour
3 - San Antonio, TX @ AT&T Center - Warped Tour
4 - Houston, TX @ Reliant Center Parking Lot - Warped Tour