!!! (Chk Chk Chk) Announce New Album 'Thr!!!Er', Out April 30th 2013

31 Jan 2013
!!! (Chk Chk Chk) Announce New Album 'Thr!!!Er', Out April 30th 2013

!!! (Chk Chk Chk) Announce New Album 'Thr!!!Er', Out April 30th 2013

On April 30, !!! will release their fifth full-length album THR!!!ER. "Over the course of many long van rides and post-coffee verbal riff sessions", guitarist Mario Andreoni explains, "Thriller didn't merely come to represent the selling of a lot of records...it became synonymous with an artist(s)' and/or genre(s)' artistic high-water mark.  INXS' Kick is the Australian Thriller...Alanis's Jagged Little Pill is the Canadian Thriller...Wham's Make It Big is the blow-dryer's Thriller...every recording by the 13th Floor Elevators is the dosed-man's Thriller...Sister Ray by Velvet Underground is the Thriller of musical fever dreams. One day at the studio, Nic [Offer, vocalist] drew THR!!!ER on a napkin and I liked it...then we made our THR!!!ER."

Famous for their high-energy live shows and relentless touring schedule, the band have really focused their efforts on crafting an album with tighter song structures. To help with this, the majority of the album was recorded with Jim Eno, the drummer in Spoon and one of the key forces behind the boards for the band.  Like many people, Jim was a fan of !!!'s live show, but he felt that they too often tried to capture these performances in the studio. Instead of trying to chase this feeling, Jim encouraged them to create a different type of excitement by using weirder sounds, inventing new dynamics within each song and introducing unexpected changes. "They had this working flow that was a little rigid and I wanted to break them out of it," says Jim.

With the members spread out across the country, writing new music wasn't the easiest of processes. Andreoni offers that "In the past we just put albums together any way that works. That usually meant a lot of jamming on loose ideas." For THR!!!ER, !!! went into the studio with everything written and a strong sense of each song's shape. "We've never tried to make the same record twice, we might have accidentally, but we've always tried to push on. For this one it felt like we definitely shoved off from the shore," says Offer.

THR!!!ER Tracklist
1.    Even When The Water's Cold
2.    Get That Rhythm Right
3.    One Girl/ One Boy
4.    Fine Fine Fine
5.    Slyd
6.    Californiyeah
7.    Except Death
8.    Careful
9.    Station (Meet Me At The)



Tags: Chk Chk Chk


More Chk Chk Chk

Primavera Sound 2014 Announce Full Line Up Including Nine Inch Nails, Queens Of The Stone Age And More

Primavera Sound has just revealed the full line up of its fourteenth edition, distributed from Monday 26th May to Sunday 1st June, through their film...

Visions Festival 2013 Review

In my younger and more vulnerable years a hippie gave me some advice that I've been turning over in my mind ever since."Whenever you feel...

Chk Chk Chk - AM/FM Video

ChkChkChk's fourth studio album 'Strange Weather Isn't It?' will be released in the UK on August 23rd through Warp Records. The first single 'Am/Fm'...


Chk Chk Chk, Must Be The Moon, Video Stream Video

Chk Chk Chk Must Be The Moon Video !!!'s new single, 'Must Be The Moon,' is all about sex - about trying to get the...

Chk Chk Chk - Myth Takes

!!! (Chk Chk Chk)Myth TakesAlbum ReviewNow then.Do you, like me, ever wonder if/when Warp Records will falter? Well if you do, consider this to be...

Chk Chk Chk - Heart Of Hearts

!!! Chk Chk ChkHeart Of HeartsSingle ReviewWhen did decent music lose its 'fun'?? Should the 'fun' records simply be left to jokers and gimmick ridden...



Chk Chk Chk Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Chk Chk Chk

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All