British Sea Power Announce New Album 'Machineries Of Joy' Out 1st April 2013

British Sea Power Announce New Album 'Machineries Of Joy' Out 1st April 2013

British Sea Power Announce New Album 'Machineries Of Joy' Out 1st April 2013

We're excited to announce that British Sea Power's new, fifth album 'Machineries Of Joy' will be released on 1st April 2013 on Rough Trade Records. The album release will be accompanied by a full UK tour, dates of which are below. 

'Machineries Of Joy' was written in the Berwyn mountains in north Wales and recorded in Brighton with Dan Smith and mixer Ken Thomas (David Bowie, Sigur Ros). "We'd like to think the album is warm and restorative," says  singer Yan. "Various things are touched on in the words - Franciscan monks, ketamine, French female bodybuilders turned erotic movie stars. The world often seems a mad, hysterical place at the moment. You can't really be oblivious to that, but we'd like the record to be an antidote -  a nice game of cards in pleasant company."

Following the album release British Sea Power will play the following UK dates:

Thurs 4 April - Exeter Phoenix
Fri 5 April - Birmingham Library
Sat 6 April - Newcastle University
Sun 7 April - Glasgow Oran Mor
Tues 9 April - Leeds Met University
Weds 10 April  - Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Thurs 11 April - Manchester Gorilla
Sun 14 April - Cardiff Coal Exchange
Mon 15 April - Portsmouth Wedgewood
Tues 16 April - Norwich Waterfront
Weds 17 April - London Shepherd's Bush Empire


Tags: British Sea Power


More British Sea Power

Beacons Festival 2014 British Sea Power, Joan As Police Woman Plus 27 More Acts Announced

Beacons Festival is proud to reveal details of a special performance with British Sea Power. Opening the main stage, British Sea Power will play an...

British Sea Power - From The Sea To The Land Beyond Album Review

'We're all in it, and we close our eyes.''From the Sea to the Land Beyond' is the latest album from Brighton based sextet British Sea...

A Week In Music - Yeah Yeah Yeahs Progress From Punky Roots With Mosquito, 30 Seconds To Mars' 'Up In the Air' Comes With A Warning And Daft Punk Break Records With 'Get Lucky'

Albums of Note... Yeah Yeah Yeahs have returned after a lengthy break, with Mosquito. It’s a marked step in the band’s evolution and a further...

British Sea Power - Machineries Of Joy Album Review

The Decline Of British Sea Power, the band's debut album way back in 2003, was thankfully not a prophecy about the likelihood of British Sea...


British Sea Power - Nottingham Rescue Rooms Thursday 10th February 2011

It speaks volumes of British Sea Powers almost unique position in the current British music climate that they can be labelled as a 'cult' and...

British Sea Power - Valhalla Dancehall

British Sea Power don't do small or subtle. They make statement indie, macroscopic music which aims for the stars. It's hardly surprising that the band...

British Sea Power - Zeus

Since their acclaimed debut album was released a distant seven years ago, British Sea Power have displayed a certain vigour for releasing new music that...

British Sea Power - Man Of Aran

Review of British Sea Power's album Man Of AranAfter receiving nominations for The Mercury Prize Awards, British Sea Power have gone into the abyss. They...



British Sea Power Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on British Sea Power

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All