Bent Shapes Releases Fourth Single 'Hex Maneuvers' From Debut Album 'Feels Weird' Out August 20th 2013

Bent Shapes Releases Fourth Single 'Hex Maneuvers' From Debut Album 'Feels Weird' Out August 20th 2013

"Hex Maneuvers" is the fourth single from Feels Weird, the debut album from Boston indie-pop trio, Bent Shapes. Andy Sadoway (drums/percussion, vocals), Ben Potrykus (guitars, vocals), and Supriya Gunda (bass, vocals) formed what was originally called Girlfriends in 2009. Since then, the trio has released a string of cassettes and 7"s full of fuzzy garage, frantic jangle pop, and scrappy post-punk on various labels (including band members' own imprints), earning them critical praise from NPR, The A/V Club, Wire, Big Takeover, and Maximum Rocknroll. On August 20th, Bent Shapes' diligence reaches its apex with the release of their debut album, Feels Weird via San Francisco's Father/Daughter Records (Pure Bathing Culture, Levek, Oregon Bike Trails).

The last three years have seen Bent Shapes supporting acts as diverse as Sic Alps, Dum Dum Girls, Grass Widow, and The Bats, with musical comparisons invoking the band's myriad of influences, referencing touchstones like Josef K, The Feelies, Jonathan Richman, Billy Childish, and The Fall. Feels Weird is a class act representation of Potrykus & Sadoway's panache for writing undeniably addictive pop tunes with witty, sharp-tongued lyrics.

The rest of 2013 will see Bent Shapes performing throughout the Northeast with a fleshed out US tour in the Fall.

Aug 18 - Allston, MA - Great Scott (Record release show w/ Potty Mouth, Krill)
Aug 24 - New York, NY - Cake Shop (w/ Two Inch Astronaut, Butter the Children, Gross Relations)
Aug 29 - Brooklyn, NY - Silent Barn (w/ Shark?, The Doubts)
Bent Shapes - Feels Weird (Vinyl, CD & Digital)
Release date: August 20, 2013
Label: Father/Daughter Records
Preorder the vinyl & on iTunes
Credits: Produced, engineered & mixed by Ian Doerr and Evan Murphy at Mystic Steamship Company in Arlington, MA. Mastered by Paul Gold at Salt Mastering.

Feels Weird Track Listing
1. Behead Yrself, Pt. 2 (mp3)
2. Leave It 'Til You Need It
3. Panel of Experts (mp3)
4. Brat Poison
5. What Do You Get??
6. Hex Maneuvers (mp3)
7. Big Machines (mp3)
8. Bites And Scratches
9. Check My Vitals!!
10. Boys To Men
11. I Was Here But I Disappear