Ben Ottewell Set To Release New Album 'Rattlebag' In The Us On October 28th 2014

Ben Ottewell Set To Release New Album 'Rattlebag' In The Us On October 28th 2014

Rattlebag, the second solo album from the acclaimed singer and guitarist Ben Ottewell, will be officially released in North America via The End Records on October 28th 2014. Album pre-order available NOW with exclusive bundle package pre-orders coming soon! 

Leading up to the official release, fans will be able to instantly download lead track "Red Dress" with their iTunes and Amazon pre-order on September 30th.

"It's a song about love, conflict and the armor we wear to get by, how sometimes surrender is better than continuing to fight." - Ben Ottewell on "Red Dress".

As a singer and lead guitarist in rock band Gomez, Ben Ottewell is well known for his unmistakable voice and talent for blistering and inspired guitar solos. Rolling Stone declared, "Gomez's not-so-secret weapon is Ben Ottewell." And as GQ Magazine once wrote and anyone listening can attest," his voice is not of this world."

Ottewell released his first solo album Shapes & Shadows (ATO) in 2011, featuring such beautiful acoustic tunes as "Blackbird," "Shapes and Shadows" and "Take This Beach," which appeared on FX's Sons of Anarchy. Since then, Ottewell has been pleasing audiences with a series of successful solo tours across the UK, US and Australia.

On his newest record, Rattlebag, Ottewell once again collaborated with childhood friend and his Shapes & Shadows writing partner Sam Genders, previously of Tunng.

Simultaneously stripped-down and lush, the album is a collection of beautifully poetic tales of salvation and redemption, of sanctuary and braving rocky seas in search of distant shores. Ottewell's infectious melodies and bluesy riffs will stick with you, and beg you to sing along.

Rattlebag is a record that transcends, appealing to Gomez fans for the recognizable sound they have come to love, and going beyond into a fresh new direction, evoking Americana and folk influences to create something that can be uniquely labeled as Ben Ottewell.

"There's a time and place for us / I will take you there," he sings ("Shoreline").  Ottewell proffers hope and promise accompanied by sublime acoustic and slide guitars, and that's something we can all use.  

Rattlebag Tracklist:
01. Rattlebag
02. Red Dress
03. Patience & Rosaries
04. Starlings
05. No Place
06. Edge
07.  So Slow
08. Papa Cuckoo
09. Shoreline
10. Stone
11. Distant Shores