Angel Olsen Announces New Album 'Burn Your Fire For No Witness' Released 18th February 2014

Angel Olsen Announces New Album 'Burn Your Fire For No Witness' Released 18th February 2014

Angel Olsen Announces New Album 'Burn Your Fire For No Witness' Released 18th February 2014

Many of the superlatives describing Angel Olsen refer to how seemingly little it takes for her to leave an audience speechless, even spellbound. But Olsen has never been as timid as those descriptors imply, and the noisy, fiery hints in her earlier work find a fuller expression on forthcoming LP, Burn Your Fire for No Witness, due out February 18th on new label home Jagjaguwar. Here, Olsen sings with full-throated exultation, admonition, and bold, expressive melody. Also, with the help of producer John Congleton, her music now crackles with a churning, rumbling low end and a brighter energy.
This "collection of songs, grown in a year of heartbreak, travel, and transformation," tell us to leave, or to high-five a lover who is lacking, or to dance our way up and out of sorrow. Many remain essentially unchanged from their bare beginnings. In leaving them so intact, a more self-assured Olsen than the one present on previous releases  Strange Cacti [EP] and Half Way Home opens up, allowing us to be in the room with her at the very genesis of these songs, when the thread of creation is most vulnerable and least filtered. We are rewarded for entering this room with many head-turning moments and the powerful, unsettling recognition of ourselves in the weave of her songs.
This act of meaning-making recurs as a theme throughout Burn Your Fire for No Witness, as the sublimating response to the power of negativity, and thankfully for us, Olsen has decided to channel a lot of this newfound power into the hypnotic performances of her new and revealing songs, sharing with us the full grace and beauty of her transformative moments.

01. Unf**ktheworld
02. Forgiven/Forgotten
03. Hi-Five
04.  White Fire
05. High & Wild
06. Lights Out
07. Stars
08. Iota
09. Dance Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Windows


Tags: Angel Olsen


More Angel Olsen

Singing St. Louis' Praises: Budweiser Made in America Hit Missouri In Their Music Documentary Expose

The ever overlooked St. Louis, Missouri is our next stop for the Budweiser Made in America documentary series, and an appropriate point ahead of Jay...

Primavera Sound 2014 Announce Full Line Up Including Nine Inch Nails, Queens Of The Stone Age And More

Primavera Sound has just revealed the full line up of its fourteenth edition, distributed from Monday 26th May to Sunday 1st June, through their film...



Angel Olsen Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Angel Olsen

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All