Amy Dickson  Announces New Album 'Dusk & Dawn' Released 22nd April 2013

Amy Dickson Announces New Album 'Dusk & Dawn' Released 22nd April 2013

On 22 April 2013, Sony Classical will release the stunning new album by internationally acclaimed Australian classical saxophonist Amy Dickson. Entitled 'Dusk & Dawn', the album is inspired by romance and celebrates Amy's very special year with not just one, but two weddings to her British fiancé.

'Dusk and Dawn' is elegant, late-night classical listening at its best. The selection of melodies from Debussy to Tom Waits - some dramatic, some smoky, some virtuosic - is a romantic musical journey chosen by Amy as a lasting memory of her marriage year.

Featuring twelve graceful and elegantly performed tracks, 'Dusk & Dawn' includes the likes of Chopin's Nocturne. Fauré's Pavane and Bellini's Casta Diva as well as Jerome Kern's Smoke Gets In Your Eyes and Harry Warren's I Only Have Eyes For You.

Specifically, it is the track choices combined with the sultriness of the saxophone that heightens the romance. Amy picked up her first saxophone when she was six years old and never looked back. It is her passion to play classical music that sets Amy apart from other saxophonists. No longer the domain of 80's solos, Amy Dickson has made playing the saxophone a beautiful, gentle and sensual experience.

Her unique position as a saxophonist in the classical world, has seen composers write new works for her and Amy has previously arranged music for the saxophone herself.  However, busy arranging her two weddings, the first in Sydney in January and the second still to come in London this April, for 'Dusk & Dawn', Amy Dickson worked closely with arranger and conductor Chris Walden. Recorded at Islington's Angel Studios, James McMillan produced the album and Nan Schwartz specifically arranged Skylark for her. Drawing on classical repertoire and more, the shimmering strings and sensual saxophone arrangements evoke the stylish cinema of the 1960s and early '70s.

Released a week after her London wedding, 'Dusk & Dawn' is the perfect embodiment of romance.

Reflecting on the opening track, Amy said: " Pavane by Fauré -is slow-burning and understated. Fauré added verses by the French dandy Robert de Montesquiou reflecting on how hopelessly romantic men can be."

Full tracklisting:
1)    Pavane (Fauré)
2)    Farinelli (Saggese)
3)    Casta Diva (Bellini)
4)    Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (Jerome Kern)
5)    In The Neighbourhood (Tom Waits)
6)    La Strada (Rota)
7)    Milonga Del Angel (Piazzola)
8)    Dr Gradus ad Parnassum (Debussy)
9)    Skylark (Hoagy Carmichael)
10) Touch Her Soft Lips and Part (Walton)
11) I Only Have Eyes For You (Harry Warren)
12) Nocturne No.2 (Chopin)

'Dusk and Dawn' is released on Sony Music in April 2013.