Algernon Doll Premieres New Single 'Candy Striped'

04 Sep 2014
Algernon Doll Premieres New Single 'Candy Striped'

Algernon Doll Premieres New Single 'Candy Striped'

Algernon Doll just released their third album, Omphalic, via Struggletown Records. Omphalic sees Algernon Doll break out from his one man band persona as he continues to hone and perfect an alternative guitar sound that harks back to a sound reminiscent of early 90's grunge.

At just 24 years old, Ewan Grant is carving out a place in the hearts and minds of fans and critics alike and has already released two critically acclaimed albums, Camomile and Citalo-pop, that has seen him compared to the likes of Elliott Smith.On Omphalic Algernon Doll really cuts loose and pulls on influences ranging from Nirvana and the Smashing Pumpkins to The Jesus Lizard and Mudhoney to produce an up-tempo, driven rock album that is both rich in its abrasive qualities as well as creating memorable hooks and choruses that are willingly addictive.

Tracks such as first single Spilt Milk Perfume, 'Justine' and 'Candy Striped' offer a reflective sound with chiming guitars, poignant lyrics and unforgettable hooks that are comparable to the likes of Sebadoh in their pomp. While, 'Tamed', 'Suicide' and 'Fellate' have an angriness and causticity that has Nirvana written all over it. Omphalic was mastered by Bob Weston of the mighty Shellac, who has production credits on a host of classic records such as Nirvana's In-Utero, Shipping News, Missions of Burma, Chavez, June of 44, Rachel's and LCD Soundsystem. Algernon Doll features Ewan (guitar & vocals), Wull Swales (bass & backing vocals) and Owen Wicksted (drums) with Ewan and Tom Mitchell also playing drums on the record.

Supporting their release, Algernon Doll played a number of shows in the UK as well as the Radio 1 Big Weekend and Wickerman Festival. He aims to record more tracks, this time with Steve Albini, at the end of this year or early next year.

1. Spilt Milk Perfume
2. Justine
3. Tamed
4. Suicide
5. Candy Striped
6. Fellate
7. Sweet Nothing
8. Pink and Blue
9. Relate
10. Goodbye, Blue Jeans
11. Pheromone


Tags: Algernon Doll


More Algernon Doll

Algernon Doll - Spilt Milk Perfume Video

Glasgow guitarist and singer Algernon Doll (aka Ewan Grant) unveils a new single, 'Spilt Milk Perfume', ahead of the release of his new album 'Omphalic'...

Algernon Doll - Son Of A Gun Brother To None Video

Glaswegian solo artist Algernon Doll (aka Ewan Grant) releases his brand new single 'Son Of A Gun Brother To None' in celebration of the release...

Algernon Doll - Spiral Sounds Video

Melancholic indie artist Algernon Doll (the musical project of Ewan Grant) releases the video for his latest single 'Spiral Sounds' taken from his debut album...



Algernon Doll Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Algernon Doll

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All