One Direction have announced details of the first single from their new album 'FOUR'.

'Steal My Girl', which will premiere around the world on September 29, is set to be released in the UK on October 12.

What's more, it's also been confirmed that the eagerly-awaited new track will come with a remix created by band member Liam Payne.

The announcement comes shortly after One Direction gave away a free taster track entitled 'Fireproof', which broke the download record with 1,089,278 copies in just 24 hours.

Allied to this, 'FOUR' hit the number one spot on iTunes stores in 67 countries two months before its official release.

Last month, Simon Cowell said that the new One Direction album is ''fantastic''.

He observed that the band have at least six songs that could light up the charts on their fourth studio album.

He told Capital FM: ''The album's fantastic. There's probably five or six tracks I've already heard that could be singles.

''There's some very different kinds of songs than what we've done before, they've taken a few more risks. Most importantly, the boys love writing, they love recording.''