Abbott, who has been plagued by poor opinion polls, received 44 votes to Turnbull's 54, relinquishing his post.

Julie Bishop will remain as deputy leader of the party.

Turnbull is expected to be sworn in after Abbott writes a letter of resignation to the Governor General, making Turnbull the country's fourth Prime Minister since 2013.