Silver Linings Playbook is primed for Oscars glory on Sunday (24Feb13) after landing four top trophies at the Film Independent Spirit Awards.

The dramatic comedy won prizes for best film and best screenplay, as well as best director for David O. Russell and best actress for Jennifer Lawrence at the celebration of independent movies in Santa Monica, California, on Saturday (23Feb13).

The event is held annually on the eve of Hollywood's prestigious Academy Awards, where Silver Linings Playbook is nominated for eight Oscar statuettes.

Lawrence's co-star Bradley Cooper was in the running for best actor, but the honour went to John Hawkes for his turn as late disabled journalist Mark O'Brien in The Sessions.

Matthew MCConaughey won the supporting actor prize for playing a strip-club owner in Magic Mike, while Helen Hunt scooped the supporting actress award for her role as a sex therapist in The Sessions.

Amour, another Oscars favourite, was named Best International Film, just one day after picking up a five-trophy haul at France's Oscars, the Cesars, on Friday (22Feb13).

Other major winners at the ceremony, which was hosted by funnyman Andy Samberg, included coming-of-age drama The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which won Best First Feature, and The Invisible War (Best Documentary).

The full list of winners is:

Best Feature - Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director - David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Screenplay - David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature - The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best First Screenplay - Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Best Female Lead - Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Male Lead - John Hawkes, The Sessions

Best Supporting Female - Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best Supporting Male - Matthew MCConaughey, Magic Mike

Best Cinematography - Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Documentary - The Invisible War

Best International Film - Amour, Michael Haneke

John Cassavetes Award - Middle of Nowhere

Robert Altman Award - The cast of Starlet

Producers Award - Mynette Louie, Stones in the Sun

Someone to Watch Award - Adam Leon, Gimme the Loot

Truer Than Fiction Award - Peter Nicks, The Waiting Room

Find Your Audience Award - Laura Colella, Breakfast With Curtis.