French Author Wins Nobel Prize For Literature

by | 09 October 2008

Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio has been announced as the winner of the 2008 Nobel Prize for Literature.

The 68-year-old becomes the first French author to win the award since Claude Simon in 1985.

A statement announcing Le Clezio's win said he was an "author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization."

The prestigious honour from the Swedish Academy includes a cheque for ten million kronor (£816,886), a gold medal and an invitation to give a lecture at the academy's headquarters in Stockholm.

Le Clezio is the 12th Frenchman to win the award, though Jean-Paul Sartre declined the prize in 1964, saying: "It is not the same thing if I sign Jean-Paul Sartre or if I sign Jean-Paul Sartre, Nobel Prize winner. A writer must refuse to allow himself to be transformed into an institution, even if it takes place in the most honorable form."

Last year's Nobel Prize for Literature was won by British author Doris Lessing.

She became the tenth Briton to win the award, joining Rudyard Kipling, John Galsworthy, TS Eliot, Bertrand Russell, Winston Churchill, Elias Canetti, William Golding, VS Naipaul and Harold Pinter, who won in 2005.

09/10/2008 12:17:07


Tags: Harold Pinter


More Harold Pinter

Danny Dyer Joins Soap-Opera. It's Neither of The Ones You're Thinking Of.

Danny Dyer, the actor once branded one of the most promising young actors in Britain after his excellent turn in Human Traffic, has joined the...



Harold Pinter Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Harold Pinter

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All