Folk group The Gloaming have beaten megastars U2 to win Ireland's Meteor Choice Music Prize for Album of the Year.

The musicians were handed the prestigious award, which comes with a $11,026 (£6,891) cash prize, for their self-titled debut record at the ceremony in Dublin on Thursday (05Mar15), seeing off competition from other Irish artists including U2, Sinead O'Connor, Hozier, Aphex Twin and Damien Rice.

Dublin rockers The Script went home with the Irish Song of the Year prize for their hit Superheroes, and acts including DJ Kormac, Little Hours, MCMorrow, The Riptide Movement and Delorentos performed at the prizegiving.