Neville Skelly To Release Album 'Carousel' On 24th February 2014

Neville Skelly To Release Album 'Carousel' On 24th February 2014

Neville Skelly has announced details of his eagerly anticipated second album, Carousel, on 24th February 2014 on Skeleton Key Records / Pias.

The 9-track self-produced album features all original compositions.

Skelly released his solo debut album, The Poet & The Dreamer, in 2011. An album of original compositions alongside a number of covers, including Woody Guthrie, Jackson C. Frank and Dion tracks, Skelly subsequently took a year's sabbatical to be a hands on dad for his daughter. 

Very much inspired by his daughter, Carousel was recorded over the subsequent 12-months, primarily during the evenings in the kitchen of a friends small terrace house on the Wirral. 

Using a very basic set-up, and an array of local players including ex-Coral members, given the restrictive recording environment, he painstakingly pieced the album together layering instrument upon instrument, resulting in a remarkable album. Eclectic, authentic and heartfelt, it explores that intersection of folk and jazz. That will no doubt resonate with aficionados of the likes of John Martyn, Nick Drake and Van Morrison. His innate sense of 'the song' make it an utterly compelling and timeless listen.

1. Carousel
2. Falling Leaves
3. House Of Saints
4. White Roses
5. Silence In The Sand
6. Catherine's Song
7. Love You Gave
8. Walking In The Shadows
9. Before She Was Gone