Uwantme2killhim? Movie Review

British director Andrew Douglas (2005's Amityville Horror remake) takes a clever look at youthful naivete in this strikingly inventive thriller, which is based on a true story. Its focussed perspective lets us see the events unfold as the main character might, and watching him misinterpret everything is seriously unsettling.

That character is the cool North London teen Mark (Blackley), who avoids his annoying parents (Womack and Delamere) by hiding in his room while chatting online to local teen Rachel (Winstone). She has gone into witness protection because of her brutish boyfriend (Johnston), and she asks Mark to look out for her nerdy little brother John (Regbo), who's being bullied in school. As they hang out together, Mark and John strike up a friendship. But when Rachel disappears, Mark begins chatting online to an MI5 agent (White) who convinces him that he needs to take violent action to save lives at school.

Right from the start, we suspect that something is up with the people Mark meets in internet chatrooms. But we also understand why he doesn't question anything: the setting is 2003, rife with still-gurgling paranoia after 9/11 and Columbine. Also, the film intercuts Mark's story with the aftermath of his actions, as he's interviewed by a tenacious detective (Downton Abbey's Froggatt). So we know that we are seeing the people he's chatting to through his mind's eye, which is why director Douglas makes the eerie decision to show them talking to their computers rather than just typing. We question whether they're real, but Mark never does.

As the facts begin to become clear, the film takes on an emotional layer that makes the story's more terrifying aspects startlingly moving. Blackley plays Mark with remarkable openness as a boy who's smart and popular, but also rather naive. His crushing return to reality is painful to watch, even as it's also cathartic. And this is enhanced by Regbo's sensitive portrayal as an awkward, needy boy with whom Mark finds unexpected chemistry. All of this comes together through Douglas' heightened style, which adds dark edges to mundane London locations. And even if it lacks a proper gut-punch finale, it's an intensely important story inventively well told.

Cast & Crew

Director :

Producer : , Simon Crocker, , Peter Heslop, Jason Taylor


Uwantme2killhim? Rating

" Excellent "

Rating: 15, 2013


More Jamie Blackley

A Week In Movies: Fans Line Up For If I Stay, Big Films Shoot In London And L.A., And Trailers Arrive For New Movies Starring Banderas, Renner, Marsden And Mara

Chloe Grace Moretz and Jamie Blackley have been out and about promoting their new teenage tearjerker If I Stay over the past week. First they...

If I Stay Movie Review

Based on the Gayle Forman novel, this teen weepie is wrenchingly emotional and packed with girly fantasies. But the characters and situations have a lot...

Chloe Grace Moretz And Jamie Blackley Greet Fans At 'If I Stay' Screening

'If I Stay' stars Jamie Blackley and Chloë Grace Moretz are seen arriving outside the New York screening for the movie where they spent time...

A Week In News: Avril Breaks Windows, 'The Hobbit' Gets A New Name, And Lupita Is Beautiful (Duh)

People's "Most Beautiful": Lupita Nyong'o is beautiful? Tell us something we didn't know! The 12 Years a Slave star was honoured this week for her...


We Are the Freaks Movie Review

This offbeat British drama shows real promise for new filmmaker Justin Edgar, although his relentlessly gimmicky filmmaking style is so attention-grabbing that it makes it...

‘If I Stay’ Trailer Drops: Grab The Tissues For This Teen Cry-Fest [Trailer + Pictures]

The trailer has been released for If I Stay, the movie adaptation of Gayle Forman's hit 2009 novel. The YA tear-jerker tells the tale of...

If I Stay Trailer

When one day the most scary thing you can contemplate is an important cello recital at Juilliard and the next you are fighting for your...

Uwantme2killhim? Movie Review

British director Andrew Douglas (2005's Amityville Horror remake) takes a clever look at youthful naivete in this strikingly inventive thriller, which is based on a...