Kate Atkinson

Comment on this artist

Kate Atkinson Biography

Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh. Her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and has been a critically acclaimed international bestselling author ever since.

She is the author of a collection of short stories, Not the End of the World, and of the critically acclaimed novels Human Croquet, Emotionally Weird, Case Histories, and One Good Turn.

Case Histories introduced her readers to Jackson Brodie, former police inspector turned private investigator, and won the Saltire Book of the Year Award and the Prix Westminster.

When Will There Be Good News? was voted Richard & Judy Book Best Read of the Year. After Case Histories and One Good Turn, it was her third novel to feature the former private detective Jackson Brodie, who also made a welcome return in Started Early, Took My Dog.

Kate was awarded an MBE in the Queen's 2011 Birthday Honours, for services to literature.

Official Bio

Back to top

Kate Atkinson Picture Gallery

2013 costa book award 280114
2013 costa book award 280114
2013 costa book award 280114
2013 costa book award 280114
sky arts awards press room 270114

More Kate Atkinson Pictures

Back to top

The Latest Kate Atkinson News

Kate Atkinson's Life After Life Fascinates Page After Page

7th April 2013

York-born novelist Kate Atkinson has long since achieved international acclaim, and yet it seems that none of her previous works...

More Kate Atkinson News

Back to top

Kate Atkinson Footage Film / Movie Reviews

The Hard Word 2003, Review by

The snappy caper: A planned-to-a-T, multi-million dollar racetrack robbery wrought with the danger of a...

More Kate Atkinson Film / Movie Reviews

Back to top


Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All